The Lexington Baptist Church is probably best known for having been swept off its foundations during the Heppner Flood of 1903 (which, after demolishing Heppner, roared on to wreak havoc in Lexington and Ione). Originally established in 1899 as the Methodist Episcopal Church, it gallantly rode the floodtide down the street and crashed into the Congregational Church – the only other church in town. Retrieved, replaced and restored, it continues to serve the Lexington community today as the Community Bible Church at its original site.
Lexington has also preserved a grist stone salvaged from its original flour mill. The stone is mounted on a concrete foundation at a small park where visitors can enjoy a nice picnic and gather on Main Street.
The Telephone Exchange/Original Town Hall Building is Lexington’s lost child. Separated from its building site many years ago it waits, foundationless, on a corner of the neighbor’s property near the old Fire Station. It remains in remarkably good condition, considering the circumstances – probably due in no small part to its straight-grain red fir studs and rafters and its (now virtually unattainable) shiplap siding.
Holly Rebekah Lodge: Initially constructed and operated as the “Leach Mercantile Store” the building was given to the Lexington Oddfellows and Rebekah’s by Mrs. Leach when the store closed for business.